My First Festival: Leeds Fest Experience

I would literally do anything to get back into a field full of mud and rain and just absolute messes. Leeds Festival was better than I expected. This post is aimed at giving you a taste of my personal experience and what to expect possibly if you decide to go to a festival, or even if you have been to a festival, some of the events will be familiar to you! This is my experience that I would love to share with you all.

We set off from my boyfriends house at 7pm and made our way to the site. We had a bunch of bags, most of which were heavy. We got there and it was raining (a normality at a festival it seems!). We dragged our beers, clothes, bags, etc. all the way to the check in desks where I thought I was going to die of exhaustion. It was so bad, honestly. I didn’t think I could make it, but hey, I did! “Just keep going Georgia”, the little voice in my head said to me. We got to the campsite and it was still raining. Even though it was literally chucking it down, I felt content sitting next to our fire in the soaking wet rain getting literally drenched. I felt happy to be there. It was actually a great atmosphere. Our Green Camp DJ played from 11pm – 4am each night meaning I hardly slept. But it was okay I guess.

The second day was where stuff got interesting. We got up at around 6:30am, made breakfast on our little stoves and made another fire to chill around. This day was actually better. However, I had my first festival toilet experience. It wasn’t as bad as I expected, but it was still pretty bad. The toilets were literally a dirty seat with a hole in it placed upon a plank of wood. Ladies, I would advise lots of hand sanitizer and to squat over the seat. Believe me. On this day, I only saw Fall Out Boy and The 1975. The walk from the camp to the arenas was pretty bad. Mud up to my knees (thank you wellies for saving my life!); it was the type of mud that you could easily get stuck in if you didn’t keep moving. But hey, it was all good fun.

The third day was a little better. I got to see one of my favourite bands, Twenty One Pilots, and we wanted to see Disclosure but the rain was so bad that we decided to go back and carry 2 bags of fire logs with us, which was totally not worth it (we’ll get to that in a second!). Unfortunately, earlier in that day, I twisted my ankle which really hurt and I could hardly stand up. I literally thought I’d broken it since there was swelling and a giant blue bruise. I decided to go for a festival poop (it has to be done guys. Bin bags are essential for this!). And as I was walking back, I didn’t notice the giant dip in the ground and fell straight into the hole almost breaking my ankle. I would have actually crawled to the arena to see Twenty One Pilots, but with motivation and perseverance I got there and had a blast.

The fourth day we chilled for a lot of it. And ate. A lot. Boredem makes you eat and it’s kinda irritating, but the food was really good. As mentioned before, we bought back 2 bags of fire logs the night before. These both got stolen out of my tent and we were not happy. We tried to look for the culprits but were unsuccessful. Bastards. We decided to go down to the arenas and watched bands that my boyfriends friends liked which I didn’t mind too much. After that, we had food and headed to see Red Hot Chili Peppers. It was amazing. I don’t listen to them that much, but they are so wonderful live!

Coming home, we left a lot of stuff there and I’m so glad. It was still a horrible walk back to the car park, but not as bad as walking to the campsite on the first night! It was dry, we had less stuff, and we were just excited to get home. I got home and jumped into the shower straight away and felt so much cleaner. Sleep was definitely needed!

Things I’ve learned from my experience:

  • Don’t have a spray tan before your festival. It will fade/run.
  • Wellie socks are a must.
  • There are a lot less drunk people and a lot more drugged people.
  • Camping chairs burn and it’s hilarious.
  • You need tights or your thighs will hurt. A lot.
  • A lot of food is never enough.
  • Make time and effort to see your favourite bands or you will regret it.

Bands I saw:

  • The 1975
  • Fall Out Boy
  • Red Hot Chili Peppers
  • Twenty One Pilots
  • Krept & Konan
  • Bugzy Malone
  • The Wombats

Thank you for reading this post. I hope it gives you an idea of what went on and my experience! Please read my other post about festival essentials further down in my blog.

Lots of love,

georgiax

 

Leave a Reply

